In Memoriam

16 Feb

When I think of you, memories flood back in flashes,
The sweet scent of incense sticks and jasmine come to mind,
For they captivated me then and still consumes me now,
As they surface in nostalgia.
I miss you.

The loose end of your nine-yard pastel saris,
Your infectious laughter that filled my heart,
Our afternoon soirees of storytelling and card games,
Moments not quite lost in time.
I miss you.

Silent chants on your prayer beads,
Cycle rickshaw rides on weekend mornings,
The taste of ‘kheer’ that you used to prepare,
Lying under the veil of stars at night.
I miss you.

n3eIwlU

A simple life that you led by example,
Kindness of your beautiful grey eyes,
My childhood spent basking in your everlasting love,
Your gift of unshakable faith in the magic of the universe.
I miss you.

Even though my heart aches by your absence,
A thought often puts me at ease,
It’s knowing you are in a better place now
And a smile escapes my lips,
For I know you are waiting for me somewhere.

I never really bid you goodbye and there’s still so much left to say,
My story with you haven’t reached its final chapter,
And perhaps that’s my reason for believing,
that death needn’t be the great divide.
When my time comes, I will see you on the other side.

25 Responses to “In Memoriam”

  1. Suhani April 3, 2013 at 10:12 PM #

    wow! you certainly know how simplicity can beatify things. loved it.

  2. Olivia February 21, 2013 at 3:02 PM #

    Wonderful… indeed! May I suggest you come to caferati tomorrow and recite this one :)
    loads of luv n hugs xoxo

    • A Rusty Storyteller February 21, 2013 at 11:35 PM #

      Thanks sweetie! Your feedback is always appreciated :-) I would love to be a part of the event and I am looking forward to meeting you as well. (It’s been a while)
      lots of love and hugs to you too!

  3. Kanikashree Bhalla February 19, 2013 at 8:13 PM #

    This is something almost everyone can relate to! Grandparents hold such a special place in our lives. I have such fond memories of my grand fathers…listening to stories; playing cards & Chinese checkers; evening walks in & around university gardens; taking money from them for having banta, ice creams & other imported stuff; getting their permission to play with their typewriters! Oh! What golden days were they. Miss them badly. But as you mentioned in the end..we will surely meet all or loved ones on the other side…to where we all belong! :)
    Thanks for sharing this poem! :) <3

    • A Rusty Storyteller February 19, 2013 at 11:44 PM #

      Kanika, thanks for sharing such lovely memories of your grandparents with me. It surely feels wonderful to know that you can relate to this poem in some way. Memories are special and as time passes by, it becomes more important to hold on to the moments that are dear to your heart. :-)

    • A Rusty Storyteller February 19, 2013 at 11:45 PM #

      And hope of seeing them someday certainly keeps us alive!

  4. purvamalhotra February 19, 2013 at 2:25 PM #

    really heart touching… awesome…

    • A Rusty Storyteller February 19, 2013 at 8:08 PM #

      Thanks Purva! Thanks for stopping by. Appreciate your feedback! :-)

  5. Kunal February 16, 2013 at 6:08 PM #

    Unforgettable Memories…

  6. ashita February 16, 2013 at 2:38 PM #

    Wow di, very hearttouching :’)

  7. kritituteja February 16, 2013 at 12:36 PM #

    Wow girl who said you are juvenile?????

    • A Rusty Storyteller February 16, 2013 at 4:05 PM #

      Hey Kriti! Thanks for stopping by. Actually this is a poem I wrote a few days back. My juvenile collection is still under wraps. My post ‘For my Professor Morrie’ is a sample from that collection. :-) But its good to receive your feedback!

  8. NehaJoyChauhan February 16, 2013 at 10:10 AM #

    i understand… each n every word

  9. vikalp February 16, 2013 at 2:00 AM #

    I liked the emotions and simplicity. Keep writing

  10. Nidhi February 16, 2013 at 12:51 AM #

    I have tears in my eyes. I miss her so much! And all the things you said are so true about how we remember her. She will always be a part of us.

  11. priyaa February 16, 2013 at 12:49 AM #

    Touching….

Leave a Reply

Natalia Zuo

Multimedia Storytelling Blog

Taleport Magazine

Story is in the Telling

Home Front Girl

A Diary of Love, Literature, and Growing Up in Wartime America

Harper Faulkner

The story is in the telling.

Scribbles

Writer by choice blogger by persuasion

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Brown Chick Confessions

A rant zone about the indiscretions of a 20 something brown chick.

Voices In His Head

Recognized as Blog Of The Year! (unfortunately, it was given the year 1910, the start of the Great Depression)

Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

"It's all in my mind"

Olivia writes here..

"Thoughts enough to create a Whirl"

Shot captures

Lens-ing the world

Neha Joy Chauhan's Encounters with Life

It is what silence sounds like

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

